ISSN 2605-2318


Claudia Montero | Interview with the accordionist Ksenija Sidorova


Interview. The Latvian accordionist premieres tomorrow the concert of the composer Claudia Montero with Vasily Petrenko conducting the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic.

Next Thursday, March 14, 2019 at 7.30 pm, at the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall in Liverpool, United Kingdom and as part of the event entitled "A Night in the Tropics", the Russian conductor Vasily Petrenko will offer a program that includes the Symphony No. 1, A Night in the Tropics, which gives its name to the concert, by Louis Gottschalk, Scheherazade by Rimsky-Korsakov and the world premiere of the Concert for accordion and orchestra «Vientos del Sur» by Claudia Montero. The Concert is a co-commissioned by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society and the Munich Philharmonic with the support of Paladin Projects Ltd and will be performed by the Latvian accordionist Ksenija Sidorova.

1.    Ruth Prieto: Next Thursday, under the title "A Night in the Tropics", the Liverpool public will be treated to a very interesting evening with compositions by Gottschalk, Rimsky-Korsakov and Claudia Montero, whose work «Vientos del Sur» This new concerto is being world-premiered by the Liverpool Philharmonic. What can you tell us about this piece?
Ksenija Sidorova: It is a new exciting work for the classical accordion. Im happy that it is finally happening and hopefully will join the magic box of accordion concertos also for other accordionists but Im very excited to be the one to premiere it in UK and Germany (May 2020).  
I would say this is a concerto for all types of audiences- very accessible and clear, almost see-through, with its enchanting melodies and catchy rhythms which often have a duel or quasi- conversation between the soloist and orchestra. 
2. R.P.:
«Vientos del Sur»"Winds of the South" is a concerto for "piano accordion" and orchestra. In your opinion how well does the accordion adapt to the orchestra?
Ksenija Sidorova: If I may, I would say its a concerto for classical accordion and orchestra. Whether its an instrument with button or piano keyboard, it doesn’t matter. Also the word adapt is not perhaps the most suitable in case of a concerto- its a solo instrument which has to stand out and show its potential to the fullest (also that of a performer).
"So I think in some moments of playing accordion acts as a subtle cushion for strings, and in other as a peak- sound instrument which really stands out from the orchestra"

3. R.P.: How has been the creative process and the work with Claudia Montero about this concerto?
Ksenija Sidorova: It was quite an intense process, especially towards the end when all the ideas were already laid out. My part in it was to introduce Claudia to classical accordion and try to adapt her style also to the instrument, make some changes to make it more `accordionists´. Otherwise I enjoyed her sincere language and Im very happy and content that now we have a concerto for classical accordion by such a prominent composer as Claudia Montero is! 

“Sidorova is eager to blow your mind with the vast and dazzling possibilities of her instrument that go leagues beyond the stereotypes”

(ZEALnyc, August 2017) Praised as ​“superbly subtle and virtuosic” (The Arts Desk) and ​“an amazingly accomplished artist” (Classical Source), Ksenija Sidorova is the leading ambassador for the classical accordion. Both a unique and charismatic performer, Ksenija is passionate about showcasing the vast capabilities of her instrument and collaborates regularly with leading composers and musicians. Her repertoire spans from Bach to Piazzolla, from Efrem Podgaits and Václav Trojan to Erkki-Sven Tüür and George Bizet, as well as to new accordion concertos composed especially for her and a multitude of chamber projects. 

This season, Ksenija premieres three new concertos. In autumn 2018 she tours to the US, which includes her Carnegie Hall debut, and performances with Avi Avital and Orpheus Chamber Orchestra playing the premiere of Concerto for Accordion and Mandolin by acclaimed British composer Benjamin Wallfisch. In March 2019, Ksenija gives the world premiere of Vientos Del Sur, Concerto for Accordion by Latin Grammy winning Argentinean composer Claudia Montero with Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Vasily Petrenko. This concerto is co-commissioned by Münchner Philharmoniker. The new concerto by Latvian composer Arturs Maskats will receive its premiere at the Riga Festival in June 2019.

Forthcoming engagements in 2018/19 include BBC Symphony Orchestra, as part of their residency in Dubai, London Chamber Orchestra with Leticia Moreno including a new arrangement of Vivaldi and Piazzolla’s Four Seasons, Orchestre National de Montpellier, Edmonton Symphony, a Swedish tour with Riga Sinfonietta, Belgrade and Basel symphony orchestras. Ksenija will also be presented in solo recital at the main hall of Kölner Philharmonie, in Bad Kissingen, Riga, and she embarks on a tour of Australia and Germany in December 2018 showcasing works by Kusiakov, Arkhipovsky, Rachmaninov, Voytenko and Schnittke.

About work with Ksenija Sidorova Claudia Montero told us

«She is an impressive artist, with a simplicity that makes anyone feel comfortable, her professionalism and the possibility of working with her doubts and all the technical questions besides her disposition have been a unique experience. It is full of vitality and transmits all this at every moment, understands music in depth, and understood from the first moment my ideas, it has been incredible.»

The photograph of Ksenija are by Dario Acosta and have been kindly provided by the artist for this interview

More información at Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra

More información at Vasily Petrenko

More información at Ksenija Sidorova

More información at Harrison Parrott-Ksenija Sidorova

More información at Claudia Montero



Destacamos ...

Nueva Sección Sub35
dedicada a la promoción de jóvenes compositores y compositoras 

Nueva Sección Directorio
dedicada a la promoción de compositores, intérpretes, instituciones y editoriales.

Este trabajo tiene la licencia CC BY-NC-SA 4.0